Welcome to our used hardback books.

Walters, Minette. THE ICE HOUSE - MacMillan 1992

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

The Ice House by Minette Walters. 1992 - MacMillan. For sale is a first edition, later printing. fine used hardback book in a fine dust jacket.

Share This Book

Walters, Minette.  THE ICE HOUSE  -  MacMillan 1992

More Views

The Book 'The Ice House' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a fine hardback copy of the novel, The Ice House by Minette Walters, published in 1992 by MacMillan.

Edition Details

Title The Ice House
Author Minette Walters
Publisher MacMillan
Edition first edition, later printing
Copyright Year 1992
ISBN 0333570952
Cover Price 14.99
No. Pages 240
Dimensions 22 cm x 14 cm
Weight (kg) 0.4

The book is a first edition, later printing (2nd) as evidenced by an incomplete numberline on the copyright page.

The book has green boards and gold lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and not excessively toned, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The fine dust jacket is complete showing the original cover price of £14.99.

Overall a fine copy of a novel by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publisher's stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Minette Walters

Minette Walters lives in Dorset with her husband and two children. She has worked as a magazine editor but is now a full-time writer. With her debut, The Ice House, she won the Crime Writers association John creasey Award for the best first crime novel of 1992. rapidly establishing a reputation as one of the most exciting crime novelists writing today, her second novel, The Sculptress, was aclaimed by critics as one of the most compelling and powerful novels of the year and won the Edgar Allan Poe Award for the best crime novel published in america in 1993. In 1994 Minette Walters achieved a unique triple when The Scolds Bridle was awarded the CWA Gold dagger for best crime novel of the year. Her following novels, The Dark Room, The Echo, The Breaker, The shape of snakes and Acis Row were also published to further critical acclaim throughout the world. Her first five novels have been adopted for BBC Television with huge success. The first, The Sculptress, which was shown in 1996 and starred Pauline Quirke, proved the most successful television drama of recent years.

Synopsis of this title

'It was evident, if there were no other entrance to the ice house, that the body had at some point traversed this thorny barrier.. The big question was, how long ago? How long had that nightmare been there? The people of Streech village had never trusted the three women living up at the Grange - not since Phoebe Maybury's husband suddenly, inexplicably vanished. Ten years later a corpse is discovered in the grounds and Phoebe's nightmarebegins. For once they haveidentified the body the police are determined tocharge her with murder ...

Reviews of this title

quotesWinner otf the Crime Writers' Association John Creasey Award. For Best First Crime Novel of the year<p>'Do not miss this startling, witty, original story… Supeer-accomplished first novel full of surprises, violence and love.'--Felicity Lamb, Mail on Sunday<p>'Terrific first novel, with a high Rendellesque frisson count'--Marcel Berlins, The Times.<p>'Startlingly, compulsively readable.'--Colin Dexter

More from Minette Walters

See all our books by Minette Walters

: Page: {viewNumber}