Welcome to our used hardback books.

Walters, Minette. TINDER BOX - MacMillan 2004

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

Tinder Box by Minette Walters. 2004 - MacMillan. For sale is a first edition, first printing. fine used hardback book in a fine dust jacket.

Share This Book

Walters, Minette.  TINDER BOX  -  MacMillan 2004

More Views

The Book 'Tinder Box' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a fine hardback copy of the novel, Tinder Box by Minette Walters, published in 2004 by MacMillan.

Edition Details

Title Tinder Box
Author Minette Walters
Publisher MacMillan
Edition First UK edition, first printing
Copyright Year 1999
ISBN 1405048557
Cover Price 9.99
No. Pages 115
Dimensions 20 cm x 13 cm
Weight (kg) 0.22

The book is a first edition, first printing as evidenced by a full numberline on the copyright page.

The book has black boards and gold lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and white, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The fine dust jacket is complete showing the original cover price of £9.99.

Overall a fine copy of a novel by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publisher's stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Minette Walters

Minette Walters lives in Dorset with her husband and two children. She has worked as a magazine editor but is now a full-time writer. With her debut, The Ice House, she won the Crime Writers association John creasey Award for the best first crime novel of 1992. rapidly establishing a reputation as one of the most exciting crime novelists writing today, her second novel, The Sculptress, was aclaimed by critics as one of the most compelling and powerful novels of the year and won the Edgar Allan Poe Award for the best crime novel published in america in 1993. In 1994 Minette Walters achieved a unique triple when The Scolds Bridle was awarded the CWA Gold dagger for best crime novel of the year. Her following novels, The Dark Room, The Echo, The Breaker, The shape of snakes and Acis Row were also published to further critical acclaim throughout the world. Her first five novels have been adopted for BBC Television with huge success. The first, The Sculptress, which was shown in 1996 and starred Pauline Quirke, proved the most successful television drama of recent years.

Synopsis of this title

In the small Hampshire village of Sowerbridge, Irish labourer Patrick O'Riordan has been arrested for the brutal murder of elderly Lavinia Fanshaw and her live-in nurse, Dorothy Jenkins. As shock turns to fury, the village residents form a united front against Patrick's parents and cousin, who report incidents of vicious threats and violence. But friend and neighbour Siobhan Lavenham remains convinced that Patrick has fallen victim to a prejudiced investigation and, putting her own position within the bigoted community in serious jeopardy, stands firmly by his family in defence of the O'Riordan name. Days before the trial, terrible secrets about the O?Riordans? past are revealed to Siobhan, and the family's only supporter is forced to question her loyalties. Could Patrick be capable of murder after all? Could his parents' tales of attacks be devious fabrications? And if so, what other lies lurk beneath the surface of their world? As the truth rapidly unfurls, it seems that Sowerbridge residents need to be very afraid. For beneath a cunning facade, someone?s chilling ambition is about to ignite.

Reviews of this title


"Minette Walters asks as much of her readers as many literary novelists, and yet she offers them a book as gripping as any thriller," according to the (London) Times Literary Supplement.

More from Minette Walters

See all our books by Minette Walters

: Page: {viewNumber}