Welcome to our used hardback books.

Francis, Dick. FIELD OF 13 - Michael Joseph 1998

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

Field of 13 by Dick Francis. 1998 - Michael Joseph. For sale is a first edition, first printing. fine used hardback book in a fine dust jacket.

Share This Book

Francis, Dick.  FIELD OF 13  -  Michael Joseph 1998

More Views

The Book 'Field of 13' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a fine hardback copy of the collection of short stories, Field of 13 by Dick Francis, published in 1998 by Michael Joseph.

Edition Details

Title Field of 13
Author Dick Francis
Publisher Michael Joseph
Edition First UK edition, first printing
Copyright Year 1998
ISBN 0718143515
Cover Price 16.99
No. Pages 273
Dimensions 24 cm x 16 cm
Weight (kg) 0.6

The book is a first edition, first printing as evidenced by no mention of later editions on the copyright page.

The book has brown boards and gold lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and white, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The fine dust jacket is complete showing the original cover price of £16.99.

Overall a fine copy of a collection of short stories by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publisher's stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Dick Francis

Richard Stanley Francis was born on Halloween, 1920 in Wales. At the age of fifteen, Dick dropped out of Maidenhead County School and won a hunter show, therefore starting an illustrious career as a steeplechase jockey. Dick has had three main careers: Air Force pilot and airframe fitter (during the war years), jockey and novelist. In 1947, Dick married Mary Margaret Brenchly. Ten years later, he retired from racing at the age of 37 and became a racing correspondent for the London Sunday Express. Five years after that in 1962, his first novel Dead Cert was published. A clever man, Francis made a deal with his publishing company that as long as he wrote a book a year, they would keep all of his novels in print. In 1983, he is knighted with the Order of the British Empire. Although there are rumours that 10 lb Penalty will be his last book, we can always hope. Dick and his wife now live in the Cayman Islands

Synopsis of this title

Dick Francis has compiled a volume of short stories, with settings ranging from the National Hunt Festival at Cheltenham, where a middle-aged owner falls hopelessly in love with her jockey, to the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs, where the demon drink and wilting willpower take their toll.

Reviews of this title


From Booklist
Francis heads straight for the winner's circle with his latest book, a baker's dozen of short stories, all featuring the horses, stables, trainers, jockeys, and assorted horsey hangers-on upon which Francis has built his hugely successful and incredibly long-running writing career. Many of the stories were written in the 1970s and originally appeared in British and American sporting magazines, but a few have never been published before, thus offering a rare and unexpected treat for Francis' legions of loyal fans. Whether he's writing about a horse thief who kills his own father and eventually reaps exactly what he's sown, the sweet Miss Marple^-like racing fan who falls disastrously in love with a cheating jockey, or the quiet French assassin who gets a shocking (and final) taste of his own medicine, Francis injects his own brand of magic into each story. His ingenious plotting, pared-down writing style, wry humor, and skillful characterizations make every story in this collection a sheer delight to read.

More from Dick Francis

See all our books by Dick Francis

: Page: {viewNumber}