Welcome to our used hardback books.

Walters, Minette. THE SCULPTRESS - MacMillan 1993

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

The Sculptress by Minette Walters. 1993 - MacMillan. For sale is a first edition, first printing. fine used hardback book in a fine dust jacket.

Share This Book

Walters, Minette.  THE SCULPTRESS  -  MacMillan 1993

More Views

The Book 'The Sculptress' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a fine hardback copy of the novel, The Sculptress by Minette Walters, published in 1993 by MacMillan.

Edition Details

Title The Sculptress
Author Minette Walters
Publisher MacMillan
Edition First UK edition, first printing
Copyright Year 1993
ISBN 0333593820
Cover Price 14.99
No. Pages 307
Dimensions 22 cm x 14 cm
Weight (kg) 0.5

The book is a first edition, first printing as evidenced by a full numberline on the copyright page.

The book has red boards and gold lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and white, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The fine dust jacket is complete showing the original cover price of £14.99.

Overall a fine copy of a novel by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publisher's stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Minette Walters

Minette Walters lives in Dorset with her husband and two children. She has worked as a magazine editor but is now a full-time writer. With her debut, The Ice House, she won the Crime Writers association John creasey Award for the best first crime novel of 1992. rapidly establishing a reputation as one of the most exciting crime novelists writing today, her second novel, The Sculptress, was aclaimed by critics as one of the most compelling and powerful novels of the year and won the Edgar Allan Poe Award for the best crime novel published in america in 1993. In 1994 Minette Walters achieved a unique triple when The Scolds Bridle was awarded the CWA Gold dagger for best crime novel of the year. Her following novels, The Dark Room, The Echo, The Breaker, The shape of snakes and Acis Row were also published to further critical acclaim throughout the world. Her first five novels have been adopted for BBC Television with huge success. The first, The Sculptress, which was shown in 1996 and starred Pauline Quirke, proved the most successful television drama of recent years.

Synopsis of this title

'It was a slaughterhouse, the most horrific scene I have ever witnessed ... Olive Martin is a dangerous woman. I advise you to be extremely wary in your dealings with her' The facts of the case were simple: Olive Martin had pleaded guilty to killing and dismembering her sister and mother, earning herself the chilling nickname 'The Sculptress'. This much journalist Rosalind Leigh knew before her first meeting with Olive, currently serving a life sentence. How could Roz have foreseen hat the encounter was destined to change her life - for ever?

Reviews of this title


'An exceptionally powerful and absorbing story, with a puzzle that twists to the last paragraph.' --The Mail on Sunday

'A stunningly good corkscrew of a crime novel of murder, motive and guilt. If you only dip into crime occasionally, dive headfirst into this one.' --The Daily Telegraph

'Crime choice of the year is THE SCULPTRESS. An awesomely accomplished second novel which centres on a grotesque, female multiple murderer or does it? The plot twists and grips, like an octopus' --The Daily Telegraph

'This is a suspenseful cliff-hanger of a novel, and Walters's sheer story-telling ability will keep you reading well into the night.'--Australian Sunday Herald

'The ICE HOUSE, Minette Walters' first novel, earned her critical huzzahs. Her second – intricate, intriguing and tantalizingly ambiguous – ratifies her emergence into the front ranks of today's mystery writers.' --San Diego Union-Tribune

More from Minette Walters

See all our books by Minette Walters

: Page: {viewNumber}