Welcome to our used hardback books.

Akunin, Boris. WINTER QUEEN - Weidenfeld & Nicolson 2003

Quick Overview

Buy Our Book

Availability: In stock


Book At A Glance

Winter Queen by Boris Akunin. 2003 - Weidenfeld & Nicolson. For sale is a first edition, first printing. fine used hardback book in a fine dust jacket.

Share This Book

Akunin, Boris.  WINTER QUEEN  -  Weidenfeld & Nicolson 2003

More Views

The Book 'Winter Queen' In Detail

The Book For Sale

For sale is a fine hardback copy of the novel, Winter Queen by Boris Akunin, published in 2003 by Weidenfeld & Nicholson.

Edition Details

Title Winter Queen
Author Boris Akunin
Publisher Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Edition First UK edition, first printing
Copyright Year 1998
ISBN 0297829742
Cover Price 9.99
No. Pages 249
Dimensions 22 cm x 14 cm
Weight (kg) 0.44

The book is a first edition, first printing as evidenced by no mention of later editions on the copyright page.

The book has blue boards and silver lettering. The boards have no knocks or signs of wear. Internally there are no marks or inscriptions. The pages are clean and white, have no tears or creases, and the binding is tight and square.

The fine dust jacket is complete showing the original cover price of £9.99.

Overall a fine copy of a novel by a popular author.

The book is not an ex library book, it has no remainder marks or publisher's stamps.

Further Information

About the Author


Author Picture

Boris Akunin

BORIS AKUNIN is the pen name of Grigory Chkhartishvili, who was born in the Republic of Georgia in 1956. A philologist, critic, essayist, and translator of Japanese, Akunin published his first detective stories in 1998 and has already become one of the most widely read authors in Russia.

He is the author of eleven Erast Fandorin novels, including The Winter Queen, The Turkish Gambit, Murder on the Leviathan, The Death of Achilles, and Special Assignments, available from Random House Trade Paperbacks; and Sister Pelagia and the White Bulldog and Sister Pelagia and the Black Monk, in the Sister Pelagia series. He lives in Moscow.

Synopsis of this title

This is the first book featuring Erast Fandorin, a gentleman sleuth who solves murders and mysteries in Tsarist Russia. Moscow 1876. A young law student commits suicide in broad daylight in Moscow's Alexander Gardens. But this is no ordinary death, for the young man was the son of an influential industrialist and has left a considerable fortune. Erast Fandorin, a hotheaded new recruit to the Criminal Investigation Department, is assigned to the case. Brilliant, young, and sophisticated, Fandorin embarks on an investigation that will take him from the palatial mansions of Moscow to the seedy backstreets of London in his hunt for the conspirators behind this mysterious death.

Reviews of this title


'Joy is not a word usually associated with Russian literature, but in its shameless dash through Victoria villainy, this is a joyful read executed with panache and a skilful re-imagining of 1870s London and Russian.' (INK (April '04) )

'Akunin...weaves a plot laced with twists and turncoats, the increasingly likable Fandorin dodging derringers, daggers and devilish beauties to the end. Racy, predictable and charmingly funny - as long as it's taken with tongue firmly in cheek. From Russia - with love.' (Daisy Foster JACK (April) )

'A stylized literary thriller.' (GOOD BOOK GUIDE (1.4.04) )

'a series of unputdownable novels.' (Will Dyke CHICHESTER OBSERVER (22.4.04) )

'an intriguing, original and thoroughly enjoyable detective story.' (SUNDAY TIMES (25.4.04) )

More from Boris Akunin

See all our books by Boris Akunin

: Page: {viewNumber}